New Praetorians 1- Sienna McKnight

Original review 10/9/2017

Blurb

Her war, her rules.
The heroine no one expected in a sci-fi technothriller you won’t want to put down.

Imagine The Avengers as a Tom Clancy novel featuring an outstanding female lead.

Perfect for fans of Ripley, Katniss, Diana Prince, and Sarah Connor.

A novel of 65k words; Science fiction/fantasy; suggested for 16+ (violence, mild profanity) 
A YEAR AGO Sienna McKnight, fresh out of West Point Military Academy, led her Special Ops team through a frozen hell at the bottom of the world to bring back something they wanted.

TODAY, March 19, she is on her way back to the Gulf of Oman and its hostile shores to challenge her own destiny.

TOMORROW, March 20, Sienna will fall. She will rise again. She will be reborn. She will become the heroine no one expected.
Like Batman Begins or Wonder Woman, Sienna McKnight starts Sienna’s story.

In the near future, soldier Sienna McKnight seeks revenge on her terrorist cousin. They both gain extraordinary powers during the series and engage in an epic battle over the fate of humanity and a unique orphan girl.
In Kindle ebook and paperback. Start reading the first of the series today!

Imagine a world with more than 100 million desperate refugees.

Live in a future where a climate and radiation-desolated wasteland has become the last hope to men, women and children dispossessed of everything but their lives.

Sienna McKnight’s odyssey began 23 years ago. She was born a nameless half breed on an overseas military base. With her first breaths she tenaciously clung to life on the edge of the Wandering Desert in a land now called Khorasan. Adopted by a military family and raised in America, she never forgot her origins. How could she? Her fate is spelled out in a rough pattern of runes cut across her body in a language of unearthly hate. An ancient terror approaches. Her destiny threatens to consume her. Through it all, Sienna must find a way to protect what is most precious.
*
The New Praetorians series was inspired by the format of the TV show Lost, especially its character-focus episodes.
Ten character-driven novellas recount a single, overarching story. The lives of many intriguing characters interconnect. They are moral and amoral, human and AI, and a dark matter life form as vast as thought itself.
Also:
An object. On Earth it is known as the Ansible. The light it shines cannot be photographed, only seen. Inside its invisible, impenetrable, shell, everyone sees something different.

The TYR Lens: a desalination plant the size of Manhattan Island floating in the Indian Ocean off the shores of Khorasan. Powered by biomass and solar energy, it supplies drinking water and electricity throughout the densely populated region, all the way to the Himalayas. Three hundred million people depend on its bounty each day.

Khorasan: a country created by the superpowers from a climate and radiation ravaged wasteland. It is sanctuary for the world’s most desperate refugees. Its Constitution requires it to have open borders. The Khorasan Sovereignty is a last haven for people violently dispossessed of everything but their lives. The massive and shadowy humanitarian agency which administers the young nation may have its own agenda.

The Lichtstrom, EU: a corporate nation established on top of the privatized CERN supercolliders. The domain of Professor Chrysostomus Licht, it is the hub of the world’s information systems. The carrier waves are neutrinos and photons of light. Lichtwerks Corp. products get under your skin, literally. Their injectable “You ARE the phone” product is their latest upgrade.
*
R.K. Syrus is a former journalist. He inhabits Europe and Asia, and mostly comes out at night. Mostly.

Start reading the first of the series in ebook or paperback, today!


Review:  Intriguing

Sienna McKnight has had a difficult birth and an interesting childhood. Now she’s a colonel in the US Army. Her current op goes sideways and she develops…. complications.

I liked this book. It’s a great start to the New Praetorians series. I have to admit, I got lost with some of the science, but quantum physics isn’t my thing. At times I get bored with the jargon and military speak, but I’m not really a military reader. Nonetheless, I enjoyed it immensely. Enough that I think I’m going to set Mr. Syrus on follow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s